More World Cup Winners Head to Star Sixes as Final Five are Unveiled

World Cup winner Joan Capdevila is among the final five legends to confirm their places at Star Sixes, which begins in London this week.

Capdevila was in the Spain side exactly seven years ago as they became world champions in South Africa, following victory over Holland. He also helped Spain claim the Euro 2008 title.

The former Deportivo La Coruna and Villarreal left-back is the tenth player to join the Spanish side for Star Sixes, and will again link up with teammates from those two successful summers, Carles Puyol and Carlos Marchena, for the inaugural Star Sixes tournament at The O2.

Meanwhile, Vincent Candela, who was in the France squad when they lifted the World Cup on home soil in 1998, and the European Championship two years later, is the last name unveiled in Robert Pires’s Les Bleus squad.

Candela, a Serie A winner during an eight-year spell with Roma, also had a brief stint in the Premier League with Bolton Wanderers, where he played alongside Nigeria Star Sixes skipper Jay-Jay Okocha.

France’s opening night opponents, Germany, who they face on Thursday 13 July, have also completed their ten-man squad, adding the final three players to join Michael Ballack’s men.

Ex-VfB Stuttgart midfielder Maurizio Gaudino, who also played on loan at Manchester City during the 1994-95 season, comes into the side along with former VfL Bochum schemer Dariusz Wosz, who collected 17 caps for Germany, as well as seven for East Germany.

And goalkeeper Timo Hildebrand, who spent the majority of his career at VfB Stuttgart where he won the Bundesliga title in 2007, is drafted into the side as a replacement for Jens Lehmann.

Hildebrand played seven times for Germany and was included in squads from Euro 2004 and 2006 World Cup as an understudy to Lehmann and Oliver Kahn.

The 121st player to sign up for Star Sixes is former Northern Ireland international Maik Taylor, who will operate as reserve goalkeeper for all 12 nations.

Taylor will be on standby to deputise should any of the countries’ goalkeepers be ruled out by injury or illness.

The former Fulham, Birmingham and Southampton keeper was capped 88 times at international level and is currently Northern Ireland’s goalkeeping coach.

So, with all players now confirmed, all 12 teams are raring to go for Star Sixes and hoping to be the first winners of the trophy this coming weekend.

There’s still time to be at The O2 for this football spectacular. You can get your tickets online from Ticketmaster or AXS, with prices starting at just £30 for adults and £10 for children. 

Star Sixes Full Squad Lists

Steven Gerrard (C)
David James (GK)
Wes Brown
Rio Ferdinand
Michael Owen
Emile Heskey
Phil Neville
Paul Merson
Danny Murphy
Lee Hendrie


Jared Borgetti (C)
Erubey Cabuto (GK)
Luis Hernández
Joaquín Reyes
Mario Méndez
Alberto García Aspe
Héctor Altamirano
Alberto Rodríguez
Braulio Luna
Miguel Zepeda


Dominic Matteo (C)
Rab Douglas (GK)
Don Hutchison
Simon Donnelly
Christian Dailly
Paul Dickov
Barry Ferguson
Mark Burchill
Jackie McNamara
Richard Hughes


Carles Puyol (C)
Pedro Contreras (GK)
Gaizka Mendieta
Míchel Salgado
Joan Capdevila
David Albelda
Alfonso Pérez
Luis García
Fernando Morientes
Carlos Marchena

Rivaldo (C)
Dida (GK)
Roberto Carlos
Juliano Belletti
Gilberto Silva
Júlio Baptista


Peng Weiguo (C)
Li Wei (GK)
Jiang Feng
Wei Qun
Chen Yongqiang
Peng Weijun
Yao Xia
Hu Zhijun
Liu Cheng
Liang Jiangfeng


Alessandro Del Piero (C)
Marco Amelia (GK)
Angelo Di Livio
Fabrizio Ravanelli
Luciano Zauri
Marco Delvecchio
Massimo Oddo
Paolo Di Canio
Simone Barone
Stefano Fiore


Jay-Jay Okocha (C)
Peter Rufai (GK)
Celestine Babayaro
Daniel Amokachi
Julius Aghahowa
Garba Lawal
Joseph Yobo
Victor Ikpeba
Taribo West
Uche Okechukwu

Stig Tøfting (C)
Jan Hoffmann (GK)
Martin Jørgensen
John Sivebæk
Daniel Jensen
Mads Junker
Mikkel Beckmann
Chris Sørensen
Hjalte Nørregaard
Per Krøldrup


Robert Pirès (C)
Sébastien Frey (GK)
Olivier Dacourt
William Gallas
Éric Abidal
Ludovic Giuly
Marcel Desailly
Youri Djorkaeff
Bruno Cheyrou
Vincent Candela


Michael Ballack (C)
Timo Hildebrand (GK)
Marco Reich
Dariusz Wosz
Simon Rolfes
Dietmar Hamann
Maurizio Gaudino
Kevin Kuranyi
Jörg Albertz
Jens Nowotny


Deco (C)
Vítor Baía (GK)
Fernando Couto
José Bosingwa
Nuno Gomes
Raúl Meireles
Hélder Postiga
Paulo Ferreira
Luís Boa Morte